This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content Library - University of Liverpool Skip navigation

Library for Online Programmes - Support Resources (Library Training Module): Research Skills

Library for Online Programmes: http://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/onlineprogrammes 
LIbrarian for Online Programmes - olib@liv.ac.uk  Skype: ohecampus  Tel: +44 0151 7944345 see full contact options.

 

Research Skills

Perma URL: send to clipboard
Embed this page:

Research Skills

These Web pages provide a range of video and tutorials on accessing and using research tools, networks and Web resources.;

Postgraduate Research Guide

These Web pages provide a range of video and tutorials on accessing and using research tools, networks and Web resources.;

Advice for Research Students

The following guideline provides advice on research-related issues such as copyright, open access, assessing journal impact and data protection and links to E-Books on a wide range of research skills.

The Literature/ Systematic Review

During your studies you will need to review literature available for your subject, assignment or final written project. The process of reviewing library resources is called the Literature Review and is important when planning ayour final Thesis or Dissertation.

Using Ethos Electronic Theses

 

Using Bibliographic Databases

Accessing Theses and Dissertations

This video provides an overview of online Theses and Dissertations databases and other digital sources provided by the Library for locating digital theses and dissertations and citations for locating printed works.

Using TOCS for Journal Alerts

Receive alerts on new Articles and Research using TOCS alerts.

 External resource

Research Skills  Interactive Tutorial

These pages have been created to develop your Library skills. When you have viewed the materials provided you may wish to try the Self Assessment activity.

Keeping Up to Date

This tutorial provides a series of interactive activities such as fill in the blank, matching and ordering questions, you can use this tutorial to learn about Library platforms and test your knowledge.

Disseminating Your Research

This tutorial provides a series of interactive activities such as fill in the blank, matching and ordering questions, you can use this tutorial to learn about Library platforms and test your knowledge.

Journal Impact Resources

 Evaluating the impact of an individual author, or journal publication can assist you in selecting the most relevant and important source material for your own academic writing and research.

Measuring Research Impact

Introduction to Research Gate

 

The UoL Research Repository

Using the H index in SCOPUS

The H index can be accessed in databases such as SCOPUS to view author research impact.