This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Getting Started with the Library

Everything you need to know about using the Library this year

Library for Online Programmes

Please provide your feedback on this updated site!

Library Student and Staff Newsletter Autumn 2020
New Remote Desktop Service
Updated Web site - please provide your comments on this updated version of the Library for Online Programmes site!
For access to the older legacy Library for Online Programmes site, please see this link.
Reminder on UoL (Computing Services) software, SPSS, NviVo, Office etc.
Library Login Problems (18/09/20)

Search DISCOVER by title, Journal name, keyword, peer reviewed status, ISBN etc.:

DISCOVER Search all E-Resources  Advanced Search
Search by Title: Search by title of work - Note for book chapters please supply the book's general title. View Journal Title: See the Table of Contents/index of all issues for a journal. Unrestricted items Only: Items in collections with Digital Rights Management limiting downloading or printing will not be shown. Peer Review Only: Only Peer Reviewed E-Journal articles will be shown i.e. journals assessed by experts before publication. ISBN: Look up an E-Book by ISBN. Search by Author: eg Jones, A. J. or Jones, John Direct Downloads Only: Your results will only show direct links to Full Text items (in PDF). You should de-select this option for a fuller search of our resources.Direct Downloads
     

Google Scholar can search licensed and Open Access resources, Note - the Library does not operate Scholar and cannot guarantee levels of service:

      For Scholar problems see guide below.

Google Scholar problems (when using the Library for Online Programmes)
 

Google Scholar is an external search engine which is not managed at UoL. The Library is unable to guarantee the functionality of external search engines such as Scholar. The Library recommends use of our licensed search platforms such as DISCOVER and other licensed databases/collections as the primary option for access to E-Resources.

Scholar may experience heavy load/usage, if this happens you may experience difficulties connecting to Scholar or see ‘captcha’ boxes when using Scholar. If you are having these kind of difficulties using Scholar, see the advice below –

Option 1 – use the link to Scholar shown in the Library’s A-Z list of databases or go direct to this link, this will show an “Is it @ Liverpool” link, however if you click the actual search result/title, these will not be authenticated via UoL and will not function unless the article is open access.

Option 2 – you can simply visit http://scholar.google.com (the normal/public URL for Scholar) and set up “Is it @ Liverpool” links manually by configuring your profile in Scholar.

Note – to save the following options between browsing sessions, log into a Google account to save your preferences.

Open a new browser and visit Scholar at: http://scholar.google.com

You will need to configure Scholar to use UoL links, click the three horizontal lines in the top left corner of Scholar:

Access the menu in Scholar

Select Settings, you will be presented with the following screen, then click Library links in the left menu. Type ‘University of Liverpool’ in the box shown, press the search icon, then ensure ‘University of Liverpool – is it @ Liverpool?’ is checked/ticked and click ‘Save’:



If you logged in with a Google account your preferences will be saved so you don’t have to do this next time you go to scholar.google.com

Note – when you search Scholar via the search box shown on the Library for Online Programmes homepage you are able to follow links by clicking the title of results, however, when you use the above option to access Scholar you will typically need to click ‘Is it @ Liverpool’ links shown to the right side of results to access licensed/commercial content:


Note the Library recommends use of licensed databases such as DISCOVER provided via the Library for Online Programmes homepage https://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/online

Please contact your Librarian if you have further questions.

See individual links to major databases, allowing you to search across many licensed sources:

You can browse all databases or select a database below: