Library: Online and Remote Studies: Computing Science

Computing Science Library Guides

See the Computing Science Library Guide, suggesting recommended databases for your subject.

For an online presentation on using Library databases see: Computing Science Finding the Information you need

See Further Guides for general help getting started with E-Resources, sources for your subject, Webinars and online tutorials.

Computing

ACM Digital Library
This research and discovery platform contain the full-text collection of ACM publications, including journals, technical magazines, conference proceedings, newsletters, and books.
ACM publishes peer-reviewed journals in computing and information technology and constitute an archive of computing innovation in emerging and established computing research. Conference proceedings capture innovation across the various computing fields. ACM Books is a series of research monographs and includes books across the entire spectrum of computer science.
Compendex
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index and abstracts bibliographic database of engineering research.
Engineering areas covered include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, structural, process, materials science, solid state physics and superconductivity, bioengineering, energy, chemical, optics, air and water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste, road transportation, and transportation safety. Coverage: 1970 to present.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
This digital library is a resource for the discovery of scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Also included are IET Conference Proceedings and IBM journal backfiles
The content of this online publishing platform comprises of annual conferences, eBooks, eJournals, and technical standards. We have full-text access to all IEEE eJournals, conference proceedings, standards, and eBooks, IET conference proceedings, and to the IBM journal backfiles. IEEE journals now typically offer full text back to the first volume.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).
Annual Reviews
This database provides professionals with critical reviews of research literature in a range of scientific disciplines including biochemistry, economics, marine science, medicine, nutrition, psychology, and sociology.
Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews synthesizes the research literature and identifies the principal contributions in your field. Once you registered, you can customize your profile in the My Account section of the site.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This is a full-text database covering computing, technology, and engineering disciplines. It is especially useful to researchers studying the business and social implications of new technology.
It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges, research, and it is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. Subject areas include many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social and professional context. Coverage: Varies by title.

Also see the Standards and Patents page under the E-Resources area.

ASM Handbooks Online
The industry's most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology, providing trusted information in every area of materials engineering.
The collection provides authoritative data on the properties, processing, and applications of metals and non-metallic engineering materials. The Handbooks have been key resources for materials engineering since 1923. From 1936 to 1990, the series was known as Metals Handbook. In 1991, the name changed to ASM Handbook. This database features the complete content of ASM Handbook volumes and ASM Desk Editions.
BSOL Standards Online
Updated daily, the site provides full-text access to British and adopted European and International standards. This online tool features standards, such as ISO, EN, BS, PAS, ASTM, and IEC.
We have access to the ‘Unadopted ISO’ module: International Organization for Standardization is an independent membership organization and developer of voluntary International Standards. ISO has published International Standards covering industries from technology to food safety, agriculture, and healthcare. ISO also contains ISO pending adoption.
For information on accessing British Standards off-campus, please visit this Library Help page.
To be able to download PDFs from BSI, users need to install FileOpen on their device. Visit this link for further information
ESDU
This database contains a collection of engineering design guides. It provides validated design methods, data and software tools covering a wide range of engineering disciplines.
It provides collective knowledge of hundreds of engineers and include data and information that in many cases are unpublished and only available to ESDU. Every data item issued by ESDU represents a consensus from experts in their field.

Lecture Notes in Computer Science
This platform contains a series of computer science books published by Springer since 1973. It reports the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education.
The series, including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Coverage: Vol. 1186 (1997) to present.

MIT OpenCourseware Audio and Video Lectures

See the standards and patents page.

BSO/ ISOs (International Standards) for professional accreditation

ISO27000 Cyber Security series

ISO27001 defines an ISMS as:

“…that part of the overall management system, based on a business risk approach, to establish, implement, operate, monitor, review, maintain and improve information security.“ (https://www.iso.org/isoiec-27001-information-security.html)

ISO27000 Security standards available via the university Library.

Web Standards

CETIS - Centre for Educational Technology Interoperability Standards
Gov-talk (UK Government) UK government standards for Web based resources, including metadata standards.
IEEE Computer Society Learning Technology Task Force (LTTF)
IMS (Instructional Management System) Global Learning Consortium
JANET - Janet is a private UK government-funded computer network dedicated to research and education. All further and higher education organisations in the UK are connected to Janet, as are all the Research Councils.
JISC - Web standards and guidance
NISO Information Standards Portal
Section 508 Rehabilitation Act Guidelines
Shareable Content Object Reference Model (SCORM)
The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
W3C User Agent Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 (UAAG) These standards apply to systems used to access the Web, such as Web browsers and assistive technology.
W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

Computer Science Library Guide (Library Guide provided by Liaison Librarian for this area) with links to E-Resources and further guidance.
Video tutorials and guides on using E-Resources
Web of Science online guide

E-Resources for Computing and technical subjects

E-Resources for Computing and technical subjects (Video tutorial) Perma URL: https://s.liv.ac.uk/660
E-Resources for Computing and technical subjects (PDF) Perma URL; https://s.liv.ac.uk/922

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Online and Remote Studies: Computing Science

Computing Science Library Guides

Computing

BSO/ ISOs (International Standards) for professional accreditation

Web Standards

E-Resources for Computing and technical subjects