Library: Online and Remote Studies: Law

Law Library Guides

See the Law Library Guide, suggesting recommended databases for your subject.

For an online presentation on using Library databases see (note these require your UoL MWS login): Practical Research skills, Finding Case Law and Finding Legislation, also see OSCOLA Referencing Support and Guidance.

See Further Guides for general help getting started with E-Resources, sources for your subject, Webinars and online tutorials.

WestLaw Certification

Get certified in Westlaw UK & Practical Law - Westlaw UK & Practical Law Certification Training gives you a walk-through of Westlaw UK & Practical Law with the option to then test your skills and become certified. When you complete the certification test, you will need to indicate your university as 'University of Liverpool', we reommend also supplying your UoL email address when prompted for your email:

Westlaw UK basic certification
Westlaw UK advanced certification
Westlaw international training module
Practical Law certification
Also see How do I complete WestLaw certification for legal resources?

Databases for Law

Note on Lloyds Law reports

Follow this link to Lloyds law reports (or use Library Search to search for 'Lloyds law reports'), then visit ilaw using the link shown onscreen, go to the login option (top right) and select the option to register an account, supply your UoL email so it shows an @liverpool.ac.uk address, don't use a personal email or you may not be recognised as a UoL subscriber.

You will receive a verification email in your UoL inbox to confirm the account, follow the link shown to ilaw, you will then need to accept terms and conditions.

You should then be able to use the menu options within ilaw to access the 'Law reports' (left menu), you can then see a list of 'subscribed' periodicals, this will show the 'Lloyds law reports', follow these to access the periodical (or use the plus + version).

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
A web-based service enabling searches of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included.
IDS Employment Law
This platform provides full-text access to employment case law, policy, legislation, newsletters, and key handbooks. Access to IDS Employment Law is via Westlaw UK. To locate the IDS Resources, scroll down the page to ‘Selected Resources’.
IDS is an employment research organisation, which has been providing independent analysis and information on employment law since 1966. It provides in-depth coverage of UK Employment law. The handbooks explain the rules governing a particular area of law and provides practical advice for both lawyers and HR practitioners.
Halsbury's Laws of England
This database covers the whole spectrum of English law and is designed to enable practitioners to answer the full range of questions likely to arise in the course of their work.
It provides a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales, containing law derived from every source. It covers every proposition of English law (whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged titles, making it convenient to use and enabling quick research into any area of law.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for attorneys, lecturers, and students, this full-text database provides complete coverage of important English-language legal information.
Content includes full-text for numerous periodicals —dating back to 1981, the indexing of legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications, and law reviews. International in coverage, this platform also includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, and covers a broad range of subjects.
Practical Law
An online legal know how service, which provides peer reviewed resources, such as practice notes, current awareness, and standard documents with links to primary sources and other content within Westlaw UK.
This collection of practical resources is created and kept up to date by a team of expert editors who have experience in the world’s leading law firms, companies, and public sector organisations. Content is arranged into several practice areas, including international and cross-border topics.
Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.

Legal Journals on Lexis (browse by journal content)

Westlaw UK
A comprehensive online legal research service, including case law and legislation, eJournals, eBooks, current awareness services, EU case law, legislation and treaties, news and business information. The first time you access the service you will be prompted to enter your name and university email address to enable you to use the personalisation features.
Westlaw International Materials
If you land on the Westlaw homepage look for the International Materials link.
Legal research tool providing full-text access to selected cases, legislation and journal articles from a wide range of jurisdictions
including Canada, Australia, France, Germany, Cayman Islands, Hong Kong and Singapore. US materials have their own dedicated site, see the Westlaw US Materials link.
Westlaw US Materials
Legal research tool providing full-text access to case law, legislation, journal articles and legal news. Search Federal materials or by State or Practice Area.

British and Irish Legal Information Institute - BAILII
Lloyds law Reports
To access content on the i-law.com platform, register and log in with your University of Liverpool email address Lloyd's Law Reports contains reports of cases relating to the maritime and commercial sector

All England Law Reports
This series comprises judgments with headnotes and catchwords from the Supreme Court, the Privy Council, both divisions of the Court of Appeal and all divisions of the High Court.
The reports contain hypertext links to other All England cases and legislation and cross-references to other major legal works, such as Halsbury’s Laws and Halsbury’s Statutes. Cases are presented with catchwords and headnotes summarising the judgments with clarity and accuracy in the long-established All England style. Coverage: 1936 to present.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
A web-based service enabling searches of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included.
English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)
This database allows you to search or browse all volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with the Index of Cases and Index Chart.
This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865. It represents reprints of the separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The reprinted reports are star-paged to their original text so that the exact paging of the original may be cited from the reprint.
Halsbury's Laws of England
This database covers the whole spectrum of English law and is designed to enable practitioners to answer the full range of questions likely to arise in the course of their work.
It provides a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales, containing law derived from every source. It covers every proposition of English law (whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged titles, making it convenient to use and enabling quick research into any area of law.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
An online database containing numerous full-text legal publications (i.e. both historic and current) and titles of historical and government documents in a searchable, image-based format.
Our subscription includes Law Journal Library, American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), Association of American Law Schools (AALS), Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867), European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Legal Classics, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Treaties and Agreements Library, Trends in Law Library Management and Technology, United States Code, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library and World Constitutions Illustrated.
IDS Employment Law
This platform provides full-text access to employment case law, policy, legislation, newsletters, and key handbooks. Access to IDS Employment Law is via Westlaw UK. To locate the IDS Resources, scroll down the page to ‘Selected Resources’.
IDS is an employment research organisation, which has been providing independent analysis and information on employment law since 1966. It provides in-depth coverage of UK Employment law. The handbooks explain the rules governing a particular area of law and provides practical advice for both lawyers and HR practitioners.
Practical Law
An online legal know how service, which provides peer reviewed resources, such as practice notes, current awareness, and standard documents with links to primary sources and other content within Westlaw UK.
This collection of practical resources is created and kept up to date by a team of expert editors who have experience in the world’s leading law firms, companies, and public sector organisations. Content is arranged into several practice areas, including international and cross-border topics.
Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.
Oxford Reports on International Law
A resource for the international law researcher. ORIL has set the standard for currency and coverage of public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals.
In this resource, the full scope of international case law is available in one place, accompanied by expert analysis and cross-case navigation via the Oxford Law Citator. The homepage details cases which have been recently added or revised. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of several key decisions.

IDS Employment Law
This platform provides full-text access to employment case law, policy, legislation, newsletters, and key handbooks. Access to IDS Employment Law is via Westlaw UK. To locate the IDS Resources, scroll down the page to ‘Selected Resources’.
IDS is an employment research organisation, which has been providing independent analysis and information on employment law since 1966. It provides in-depth coverage of UK Employment law. The handbooks explain the rules governing a particular area of law and provides practical advice for both lawyers and HR practitioners.
Practical Law
An online legal know how service, which provides peer reviewed resources, such as practice notes, current awareness, and standard documents with links to primary sources and other content within Westlaw UK.
This collection of practical resources is created and kept up to date by a team of expert editors who have experience in the world’s leading law firms, companies, and public sector organisations. Content is arranged into several practice areas, including international and cross-border topics.
Legislation.gov.uk
This platform carries most (but not all) types of legislation and their accompanying explanatory documents.
All primary legislation from 1988 to present day is available on this site (see 'Why isn't the legislation I am looking for on this site?' for details of any known legislation we do not carry). Most pre-1988 primary legislation is available on this site. The site also contains all secondary legislation from 1987, including UK Statutory Instruments, Scottish Statutory Instruments and Northern Ireland Statutory Rules. It provides legislation originating from the European Union, including corrigenda (correction slips for EU legislation) and EU Directives published up to EU exit.
Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.

British and Irish Legal Information Institute - BAILII

Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.

British and Irish Legal Information Institute - BAILII
EUROPA
The official website of the EU providing access to information published by all EU institutions, agencies and bodies.
EUR-Lex
Official legal information database of the EU. A multilingual database of EU documentation, including the Official Journal of the EU.
European Court of Justice case law
Searchable database of ECJ case law.

Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law
This resource is the most important encyclopaedic publication on private and public international law; the collection dates to 1923.
The Academy’s scientific body, the Curatorium, calls upon specialists, including academics, practitioners, diplomats, and other experts, to deliver courses to an international audience in English or French. Courses at the Hague Academy are published in the Collected Courses, the Academy’s collection. These contributions deal with the theoretical and practical aspects of the subject, including legislation and case law. Coverage: 1923 to present.
International Law E-Books Online
This international law eBook collection forms part of the Brill and Nijhoff eBook package.
Subject coverage includes public international law, law of the sea, international trade law, international labour law, environmental law, European law, international relations, international organizations, terrorism, legal history, and Islamic law. We have access to titles published from 2006 to 2011.
Investment Arbitration Reporter
A news and analysis service focusing on the international law that applies to foreign investment, particularly the international investment treaties and arbitration claims that arise in this context.
It offers detailed coverage, with focus on investigation of unreported cases and rapid review and analysis of legal documents and policy developments. It also contains investor-state claims, enabling subscribers to monitor particular cases or arbitrators, and to research developments in a chosen country, treaty-regime, or time-period.
Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
An online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.
The articles selected for publication have been chosen to reflect not only the history of public international law, but also recent growth areas such as criminal law, human rights law, economic law, and environmental law. New content is added three to four times a year, and existing content is revised.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library
- This link opens in a new window
hosts a collection of over 235,000 information resources on criminal justice subjects, including corrections, courts, drugs, law enforcement, juvenile justice, victims of crime, and related topics.
The Virtual Library provides access to all known OJP works and sponsored research, as well as to thousands of government products, research reports, journal articles, and published and unpublished literature produced through 2014.
Oxford Reports on International Law
A resource for the international law researcher. ORIL has set the standard for currency and coverage of public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals.
In this resource, the full scope of international case law is available in one place, accompanied by expert analysis and cross-case navigation via the Oxford Law Citator. The homepage details cases which have been recently added or revised. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of several key decisions.
US Statutes at Large
This database includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, featuring every law, public and private, ever enacted by Congress.
It also includes early federal codes and compilations of statutes, as well as other related works.
US Supreme Court Library
This database includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.
HeinOnline provides complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports, an indexed compilation of the official full text of all decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States and the official record of its rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings. It also includes books, periodicals CRS reports, rules of the Court, and external links.
Westlaw International Materials
If you land on the Westlaw homepage look for the International Materials link.
Legal research tool providing full-text access to selected cases, legislation and journal articles from a wide range of jurisdictions
including Canada, Australia, France, Germany, Cayman Islands, Hong Kong and Singapore. US materials have their own dedicated site, see the Westlaw US Materials link.

WorldLii
more...less...
Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law

UK Parliamentary Papers
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides detailed primary sources for the past three centuries, for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world, and constitutes a part of the world’s historical record.
Parliamentary Papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy and provided a forum for the ideas of thinkers of the day. With the core content of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers and House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, the digitization of the Parliamentary Papers of the UK Parliament has made this resource a research destination for everything associated with parliamentary research.
UK Parliament Publications and Records
Parliamentary committees produce publications, such as reports, records of evidence sessions and debates. House of Commons publications include parliamentary standards, accounts, management, standing orders and MPs' financial interests. This resource enables you to explore documents from the parliamentary libraries.
The records included on this platform include The Official Report (Hansard), Written Questions and Answers, and Written Statements from the House of Commons and House of Lords, House of Commons and House of Lords business papers and publications, committee and research publications, and parliamentary archives.
Stormont Papers
This database contains the Parliamentary Debates of the devolved government of Northern Ireland from 7 June 1921 to the dissolution of Parliament in 28 March 1972.
The printed pages of Parliamentary Debates have been digitised with the support of academics, archivists, and politicians. The resource has been available online since October 2006. These papers cast a unique light on the development of the Province. The site enables you to view the volumes, search using keywords or browse debates according to the combined subject index. Note: As the site is in the process of being rebuilt, there is only minimal access to the content.

UK Legislation

BBC Monitoring
A division of the British Broadcasting Corporation which monitors, reports and analyses news from television, radio, new agencies, press, and the internet around the world.
The resource contains news alerts, reports, roundups, insights, programme summaries, and reference sections with biographies. New alerts provide key developments on major stories, as they happen and programme summaries feature comprehensive summaries of television and radio programmes, with detailed timeline and key topics covered.
BoB
This is a Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education, which allows staff and students to record programmes; and search the archive of broadcasts.
BoB (formerly Box of Broadcasts or BoB National) is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. The first time you use BoB you will be prompted to enter an email address to use the MyBoB Playlist facility.
BoB is usually only available to users on the UK mainland. However, the Library is participating in a pilot project which now allows some BoB content to be made available to overseas students. Further details can be found at FAQ .
Investment Arbitration Reporter
A news and analysis service focusing on the international law that applies to foreign investment, particularly the international investment treaties and arbitration claims that arise in this context.
It offers detailed coverage, with focus on investigation of unreported cases and rapid review and analysis of legal documents and policy developments. It also contains investor-state claims, enabling subscribers to monitor particular cases or arbitrators, and to research developments in a chosen country, treaty-regime, or time-period.
Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.
Lexis+ News
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions
LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

This database provides access to the national and regional UK newspapers. The database enables you to either search or browse the content. There is a ‘search help’ function located at the top right-hand corner of the search bar, which gives you tips on how to utilise the search function efficiently.

American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
This database contains the complete digitised periodicals of the American Association of Law Libraries.
The collection includes publications such as AALL Spectrum, American Association of Law Libraries Newsletter, American Association of Law Libraries President's Newsletter, Index to Legal Periodicals and Law Library Journal, Law Library Journal, Publications Clearing House Bulletin, and Technical Services Law Librarian. Coverage: 1908-current.
Cambridge Journals
A platform for academic content from Cambridge University Press containing over one million journal articles.
Cambridge University Press publishes peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology, and medicine. We have access to most of their content back to volume one.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
An online database containing numerous full-text legal publications (i.e. both historic and current) and titles of historical and government documents in a searchable, image-based format.
Our subscription includes Law Journal Library, American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), Association of American Law Schools (AALS), Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867), European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Legal Classics, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Treaties and Agreements Library, Trends in Law Library Management and Technology, United States Code, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library and World Constitutions Illustrated.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for attorneys, lecturers, and students, this full-text database provides complete coverage of important English-language legal information.
Content includes full-text for numerous periodicals —dating back to 1981, the indexing of legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications, and law reviews. International in coverage, this platform also includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, and covers a broad range of subjects.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995 in New York City, United States. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals.
We have access to the following packages: Arts & Sciences I-IIV, Arts & Sciences IX, Biological Sciences, Ireland, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and South Asia Open Archives.
Lexis+
- This link opens in a new window
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions LexisNexis products are licensed for academic use only. Commercial use is prohibited

A database providing full-text access to case law, legislation, and expert commentary, including access to key sources such as the All England Law Reports and Halsburys Laws of England. It also includes full-text articles from legal, business and trade publications, annual reports and other company information and UK local and national newspapers. Content has been expanded to include access to a range of Commonwealth legal sources, including case law, legislation, commentary, journals and news for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and New Zealand.
Oxford Academic Journals
This platform contains journals in a wide range of subject areas, including humanities, social sciences, science and medicine.
Oxford University Press publishes quality journals and delivers research to a wide audience. It works closely with its society partners, authors, and subscribers to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs. We have access to most OUP journals, and in most cases access starts from Volume 1.
SAGE Journals
This database contains journals from a wide range of disciplines. SAGE publishes journals in subject areas, such as business, humanities, social sciences, and medicine.
You can browse the journal platform for the latest top downloaded articles, special issues, and full journal portfolios from the available disciplines. We have access to most SAGE journals, and the coverage is from Volume 1, in most cases.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

Cambridge Core Books
A platform for academic content from Cambridge University Press containing over thirty thousand books.
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students. Cambridge Core is central for academic research and it is the place to find inspirational research and academic information.
Elgaronline
This platform includes scholarly research monographs, research handbooks, companions, dictionaries, encyclopaedia, and journals.
The scholarly research monographs are in major subject areas of law, business, economics, and the social sciences. The handbooks in social sciences provide surveys of important areas across economics, law, business and management and social and political science. This database also contains reference works, such as companions, dictionaries, and encyclopaedias.
Halsbury's Laws of England
This database covers the whole spectrum of English law and is designed to enable practitioners to answer the full range of questions likely to arise in the course of their work.
It provides a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales, containing law derived from every source. It covers every proposition of English law (whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged titles, making it convenient to use and enabling quick research into any area of law.
Legal Classics
This database contains thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, and Benjamin N. Cardozo.
The database focuses on constitutional law, comparative law, political science, and other classic topics. In addition to the many ‘classics’, this platform also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world. Researchers can browse the titles by name, author, or subject. Coverage: 1594-2001.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
An online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.
The articles selected for publication have been chosen to reflect not only the history of public international law, but also recent growth areas such as criminal law, human rights law, economic law, and environmental law. New content is added three to four times a year, and existing content is revised.
Oxford Scholarship Online
This platform offers access to thousands of academic books by Oxford University Press. Around 500 new books are added each year, enabling scholars to keep up with the latest research in their disciplines.
We have access to ebooks in the following 17 subject areas: biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, and sociology.

FT.Com

Alternate Name(s) Financial Times; FT

An international daily newspaper that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
To access the content, you will need to set up your own individual login.
To register as a first-time user, visit How do I access the Financial Times online to see the instructions.
If you have already registered, go directly to ft.com and select the link to sign in.
For further information, view this How to use FT.com video.
By accessing FT.Com, users are agreeing to adhere to both FT.Com terms and conditions and Copyright Policy

This London-based newspaper provides a broad range of information, news, and services for the global business community.
Note: you will find the Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016) as a separate database entry.

E-Resources for Legal Resources

Law Library Guide (provided by law Liaison Librarian - advice on case law, legal abbreviations and specialist guides). Also see: Practical Research Skills, Finding Case Law and Finding Legislation, also see OSCOLA Referencing Support and Guidance.
Video tutorials and guides on using E-Resources
OSCOLA referencing guides, video and online textbooks.

E-Resources for Legal Resources (Video Tutorial) Perma URL: https://s.liv.ac.uk/656
E-Resources for Legal Resources (PDF) Perma URL: https://s.liv.ac.uk/925

Westlaw training video and guides

How do I complete WestLaw certification for legal resources? (Sway Guide) Perma URL: https://s.liv.ac.uk/926

WestLaw UK is a comprehensive online legal research service, including case law and legislation, E- Journals, E-Books, current awareness services, EU case law, legislation and treaties, news and business information. Note - The first time you access the service you will be prompted to enter your name and university email address to enable you to use the personalisation features.

Follow the below links to open video or guides on using WestLaw UK:

Getting started

Customise your experience

Case law research

Legislation research

Finding secondary sources

Finding EU content

EU Content on Westlaw UK

Collaboration tools

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Online and Remote Studies: Law

Law Library Guides

WestLaw Certification

Databases for Law

E-Resources for Legal Resources

Westlaw training video and guides