This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Library for Online Programmes

Introduction to Journal Bibliometrics (Research Impact Tools)

The Library provides SCOPUS SciVal for viewing the research impact of academic research, other applications can be used such as Scimago and Google Scholar. Evaluating the impact of an individual author, or journal publication can assist you in selecting the most relevant and important source material for your own academic writing and research.

Key databases for journal metrics include - 

  • Web of Science - provides Journal Citation Reports (generate metrics for journal or subject area), and Essential Science Indicators (generate discipline-wide metrics)
  • SCOPUS - provides SciVal, allowing for generation of research impact data for publications and research bodies/organisations.
  • SCImago - provides a range of journal and national research impact indicators.

Please see tabs above for guidance/ video tutorials on using journal impact sources.

When viewing search results in Web of Science or SCOPUS and other databases you can see the number of times the article has been cited by other articles.

Please see tabs above for guidance/ video tutorials on using journal impact sources.

To access SCOPUS SciVal go to the SCOPUS homepage then click "SciVal".

Please see tabs above for guidance/ video tutorials on using journal impact sources.

The Scimago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). Visit https://www.scimagojr.com

Please see tabs above for guidance/ video tutorials on using journal impact sources.

Visit Scholar: https://scholar.google.co.uk/ and use the "Metrics" link (top menu).

Please see tabs above for guidance/ video tutorials on using journal impact sources.

 customer service excellence