This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Library for Online Programmes

Library Service Status, new Trials and Subscriptions

Planned Changes to Library Platforms

Library System Changes for 2022/23 (Library for Online Programmes) 

Library systems will be changing this Autumn to improve our services, this will result in a unified Library interface rather than rely on older separate platforms. This new system will provide much better integration for Library physical and online resources.

Our new search platform for print and online resources will be available from Aug 23rd 2022, you are advised to familiarise yourself with the new platform from this time. We will be phasing out the DISCOVER platform, which will be retired from the Library for Online Programmes in Spring 2023.

The Library will be experiencing some changes from August 23rd 2022, if you use personalised features in DISCOVER, loan physical items using the Library Catalogue or use other personalised Catalogue features, please see instructions at the link below for archiving any personal data.

For further details, instructions for archiving legacy data and a timetable for changes, please see https://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/online/primo

Bank Holiday Opening and Support during 02-03 June 2022

Bank Holiday Opening and Support during 2-3rd June 2022 (Queen's Platinum Jubilee)

The Library for Online Programmes remains available for databases/ E-Resources during the Bank holiday. Full campus enquiry services reopen Monday 06/06/22, 24/7 Library enquiry services via email, SMS, telephone or online chat will be available during this time.

Any emails, Skype, MS Teams or telephone messages issued to the Online Librarian during this time will be responded as soon as possible on resumption of services.

24/7 IT Service Desk enquiries for MWS password/ Library login issues will be available throughout this time. 
For further support and advice see the Support area also see the Training, video and tutorials area for Library guides.

Library user experience survey (Library Life Pulse Survey)

The Library is currently taking part in the Library Life Pulse Survey. This is an opportunity to share insight into your Library needs, preferences and satisfaction levels. The survey is open to all students and academic or professional services staff. Please see the above link to take part in the survey.

As a thank you for taking part, you will be entered into a prize draw to win one of five £50 Amazon vouchers and a bundle of Library merchandise. The closing date for the prize draw will be midnight on the 19th May 2022 and the draw will take place on 24th May 2022.

Winners will be chosen randomly and contacted within three weeks of the draw date. The questionnaire is being administered by an independent research agency, Alterline. All survey responses will be reported anonymously and will not be identifiable to you in any way. We have found this survey takes, on average, 15 minutes to complete. 

Introduction to O'Reilly Computing Science E-Resources for Students and Staff

If you have an interest in coding, computing or information technology then take a look at our new resource O'Reilly for Higher Education. The O'Reilly digital platform includes ebooks, audio books, case studies and videos from O'Reilly and other related publishers. The Library is hosting an Introduction to O’Reilly for Higher Education online on 26th April. Register to receive a recording even if you cannot attend the session.

O'Reilly Textbook Problems and Workaround

You may find you see an error when accessing textbooks on the O'Reilly E-Book collection, if you have difficulties using the collection, please visit the O'Reilly site at https://learning-oreilly-com.liverpool.idm.oclc.org/home/ (you will need to log in via your UoL/MWS username and password unless you have already done so), then search for the E-Book title to see this shown in results listed, then click the title to access the E-Book.

If you still have difficulties, please contact the E-Learning Librarian using usual contact options.

 

SCOPUS webinars for researchers

Please see the following sessions exploring advanced use of the SCOPUS database for researchers, you can use the links below to book a place on these Webinars provided by SCOPUS:

Getting the most out of Scopus for research

Wed 13th April 2pm – 3:15pm https://libcal.liverpool.ac.uk/event/3880208

Scopus online seminar presented by Michaela Kurschildgen, Consultant and Training specialist from Elsevier. This live demonstration will introduce Scopus as a tool for research students and researchers who need access to the latest relevant research. Some of the topics the session will explore include how to search smarter not harder, tracking research trends and visualising the research landscape.

Scopus Yourself: learn all about Scopus author profiles

Thu 21st April 2pm – 3:00pm https://libcal.liverpool.ac.uk/event/3880210

Scopus online seminar presented by Michaela Kurschildgen, Consultant and Training specialist from Elsevier. This session will introduce you to Scopus author profiles and associated author level metrics. The session will show you how to review and update your research details, understand how to connect your Scopus author profile with ORCID and help you identify experts or track who is citing your research.

Students - your views on Reading Lists please!

The library really wants to hear how our students find using Reading Lists @ Liverpool as part of your whole learning experience. 

This short survey will take no time at all and your feedback will help us to target our support and improve your experience - 

https://liverpool.libwizard.com/f/readinglists

Thanks!

Library Catalogue Problems 10/01/21

The Library Catalogue system (https://library.liv.ac.uk) is currently experiencing technical difficulties, this has been reported and will hopefully be resolved shortly.

If you need to search for E-Books or online articles, please use the DISCOVER platform (shown on the Library for Online Programmes homepage) or other specialist databases/ collections for your subject area.

If you are having difficulties accessing a link from your reading list, you can look up an E-Book using DISCOVER, use the 'Search by title' checkbox and supply the exact title of the text when searching.

To look up an E-Journal article, use the same method shown above, or use a major journal index such as SCOPUS or Web of Science, these platforms will show an 'Is it @ Liverpool' link providing full text access in most cases.

You can also look up an article using the Go to an article form or using the article's DOI number.

If you still have difficulties, please contact the online librarian via email (olib@liverpool.ac.uk), Skype (ohecampus), or see other options, including 24/7 contact options at https://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/online/support 

Library login/ authentication problems 18/11/21

The Library and E-Resources, including databases, E-Books, E-Journals etc. are experiencing a general login/ authentication problem, this issue has been reported to the IT Service Desk, we apologise for any inconvenience.

Possible workaround:

Please try clearing all browser cache/ cookies/ session data, then close all instances of your Web browser, then re-launch your browser to visit the Library or E-Resources.

You can also try using a different browser, or a fresh install of a new browser such as Firefox.

Taylor & Francis Platform Problems 08/11/21

Taylor & Francis Platform Problems 08/11/21

The Library has received reports of a 'cloudflare' error when using the Taylor & Francis E-Book platform, if you have problems accessing E-Books or other E-Resources in this platform, please try the following options -

  • Try using the Library Catalogue to search for the item by title, you can see a link to the Catalogue on the campus Library homepage (large icon under the DISCOVER box), then use the 'Get Full Text' link when you see the item record. You can also see a link to the catalogue on the Library for Online Programmes homepage.
  • Or, try logging into Taylor and Francis platform directly at this link, then search for the E-Book or other item required, then try to follow a link to download or view the item online.
  • If you see a 'cloudflare' error in Taylor & Francis, click the 'login' link in the top right corner, then click 'With Shibboleth or Open Access' then select the 'University of Liverpool' from the list of insitutions when prompted.

Please contact your librarian if you still have difficulties, including any publication/ citation details for the item you are trying to access, online students can contact Paul Catherall, online Librarian using any contact details shown under the Support page in the left menu of the Library for Online Programmes.

Changes to Library Authentication (Dual SMS/ App Authentication) - IMPORTANT

Please note that IT Services have announced changes to Library authentication which will require use of Duo (dual authentication), this will mean that you will need to use our Duo SMS or Duo App to additionally log into Library E-Resources from Monday 8th November.

You will need to enrol your mobile device with the IT Services Duo Web portal. When logging into Library E-Resources you will need to receive either an SMS containing a code to proceed with your login (or you can use the Duo app installed on your mobiile device).

For help using Duo dual authentication see https://www.liverpool.ac.uk/csd/security/two-factor/

If you have difficulties enroling your mobile device or other issues using Duo, please contact the IT Service Desk in the first instance.
When calling the IT Services 24/7 Telephone +44 (0) 151 79 44567 or IT Services chat you are recommended to remain on the line until you have been able to resolve your issue and actively log into the Library or E-Resources.

You can also email IT Service Desk using the Service Now portal or email: servicedesk@liverpool.ac.uk 

Please see the IT Services announcement for further details.

EndNote Desktop Installation issues

Unfortunately some users may experience issues downloading EndNote Desktop for Windows on the CSD Software hub, for some users their Chrome browser's security may reject the download, a workaround is to use another standard Web browser such as Firefox. Also, if the user is presented with a Windows Defender screen when installing EndNote, they can click 'More info', then 'Run anyway'.
For assistance with EndNote, including installation issues please contact the Online Librarian or schedule a session using any of the contact details shown in the Library for Online Programmes on the Support > Online Librarian page.

New Open Access Macroeconomics textbook with LSE Press

Please see the following newly released Open Access Macroeconomics textbook released by LSE press:

Campante, F., 2021. Advanced Macroeconomics. London: LSE Press. DOI: https://doi.org/10.31389/lsepress.ame

Information about the textbook:

Macroeconomic policy is one of the most important policy domains, and the tools of macroeconomics are among the most valuable for policy makers. Yet there has been, up to now, a wide gulf between the level at which macroeconomics is taught at the undergraduate level and the level at which it is practiced. At the same time, doctoral-level textbooks are usually not targeted at a policy audience, making advanced macroeconomics less accessible to current and aspiring practitioners.

This book, born out of the Masters course the authors taught for many years at the Harvard Kennedy School, fills this gap. It introduces the tools of dynamic optimization in the context of economic growth, and then applies them to a wide range of policy questions – ranging from pensions, consumption, investment and finance, to the most recent developments in fiscal and monetary policy. It does so with the requisite rigor, but also with a light touch, and an unyielding focus on their application to policy-making, as befits the authors’ own practical experience.

Advanced Macroeconomics: An Easy Guide is bound to become a great resource for graduate and advanced undergraduate students, and practitioners alike.

EndNote Online DISCOVER Issues 27/10/21

At present, export links to EndNote Online from DISCOVER appear to be having difficulties, this issue has been reported to the EndNote company (Clarivate), the issue does not appear to impact the desktop version of EndNote.

Please see the following alternative options for exporting database citations into EndNote Online -

One workaround for journal citations is to use Web of Science (see the A-Z of databases), firstly locate the journal item, then in search results, check the check-box next to the item, then use Export > EndNote Online (see top menu, or see the Export option in the right menu if viewing a full item record).

For other databases, a manual import of a RIS export might be necessary - within EN Online, go to Collect (top menu) > Import References then choose a RIS export file on the local computer and select 'Refmain RIS' in the pulldown list (you can also use the ENW type e.g. if exported from Scholar select 'EndNote Import' in the pulldown). For help importing a RIS file, see the EN Online workbook.

For books if DISCOVER Is having issues - you can typically use an 'Export' link or icon in the actual book platform's item/ record (i.e. when viewing the actual book in the online collection).

Alternatively you can use the Library Catalogue - in the item record, go to 'Save Record' (top menu), then 'View Saved Records', then 'Export Saved', change the bullet menu on the left to 'End-Note', then select 'Local Disk' (right side of page), press 'Submit' to generate an export file.

WorldCat can also be used to obtain a RIS export for books, from WorldCat search for an item, then go to 'Cite/Export' (top menu), then click 'Export to EndNote' for a RIS file.

For further help or support please contact the online Librarian using any of the contact options in the Library for Online Programmes support page.

Connectivity Support

If you experience connectivity difficulties such as being returned back to a login sceeen, a blank page or a server error when using the online Library, then you may need to follow some of the suggestions below.

For further assistance with connectivity difficulties, please contact the Online Librarian via Skype, Tel, email or MS Teams please see https://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/online/support#s-lib-ctab-14994181-4

SCOPUS problems 19/10/21

The SCOPUS database is currently experiencing difficulties, you may not be able to search the platform or sign in with a SCOPUS profile. For an alternative global citation database, please use Web of Science shown on the Library for Online Programmes homepage (see Major Databases tab) or see Your Subject and see other citation databases for your subject area. This issue has been reported.

 customer service excellence