This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Library for Online Programmes

Advice for Library and IT support during Industrial Action 24/05 to 11/06

Please note - the University campus is subject to Industrial Action by the University and College union 24/05 to 11/06, some typical Library support may be subject to a delayed response, please see the following current support options during this time.

To contact the Librarian by telephone, Skype, email see the 'Online Librarian' tab above.

Also see the Library's LibAnwers (FAQs for Online Programmes) and IT Services 'Quick Start for New Students'

The following support services are available for online students and staff (see above tabs for details) - 

  • Online Librarian - for a range of personal support using the Library, referencing, citation software and Library staff/ developer support
  • Schedule a consultation - you can approach the Librarian via telephone/ Skype or schedule a booked session via Tel, Skype or Teams
  • IT Service Desk - providing 24/7 telephone line, chat (requires log into CSD portal, office hours only) and email
  • Ask Us - for general Library enquires. e.g. help locating an article or E-Book using DISCOVER
  • Webinars and Support - for bookable/recorded KnowHow study/writing and statistics seminars, specialist database support and video/guides.
  • Also see the Training page (left menu) for online tutorials on using the Library and KnowHow study skills, writing and statistics tutorials.

Activating your UoL (MWS) login to use the Library

When you begin studies, you must activate your network login at https://register.liv.ac.uk/

When should I Activate my UoL Login?

You should receive instructions to activate your account during your first week of study. If you have begun your studies but never received an invitation to activate your login, you can try to do so at https://register.liv.ac.uk/

Entering your activation details

You will be asked to enter your ID / card number, Date of Birth and Surname. Personal details must be supplied in same format you supplied at registration for your programme, please see your registration correspondence, learning environment or student portal to check the exact spelling or other special appearance of your family/ second name as supplied when you registered for your programme.

Noting your login details

Please note you are not sent an email confirming your login details, please note these details at the point of activation.

When is my UoL Login active?

Your login should become active within a few minutes following activation.

Secret Question

When you activate your login you will also set a "Secret Question" please note this as you may be asked about your Secret Question in correspondence with IT Helpdesk.

Setting your Password

When you set your password please note this must be at least 8 characters long, it must contain at least one numeric digit and cannot contain any words found in an English Dictionary.

Online students are recommended to log into the Library for Online Programmes at https://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/online 
Note you can also access the University Library Homepage https://liverpool.ac.uk/library this is configured for shelf collections (physical resources held in campus Libraries) and other resources which may not be in electronic format, you should only see electronic/ full text resources when using search options/links shown in the Library for Online Programmes.

Changing your Password

If you wish to change your password at any time, please see our password reset tools.

University Email

You can access your University email using your University login, you can see links to University email when logging into the University of Liverpool Student Portal or by visiting https://webmail.liv.ac.uk for help using University email please see https://www.liverpool.ac.uk/csd/email

Login Help

For problems activating your login, forgotten passwords and other technical problems, please contact IT Helpdesk. Please note - there is no expiry on the University password, also note you can only activate one login at UoL.

Forgotten Password

You can reset your password - note, this tool requires you provided an alternative e-mail address when you activated your login.

Activating UoL (MWS) login for Library access (and other services)

You are emailed an invitation to activate your MWS login when you begin taught modules (http://register.liv.ac.uk) see activation help

Login Advice

You cannot log into the Library using email addresses, use your MWS username e.g. oljonesjl
​You cannot typically log into individual databases or commercial journals using their own/ in-built login form. Please log into the Library, then use tools such as DISCOVER, database links/search boxes, Library catalogue, A-Z etc. to access your required database, journal or resource.
See Technical FAQ.

Contact 24/7 IT Service Desk

Tel (24/7): [UK 0151] [Int +44 151] 79 44567, Chat (in normal office hours, Mon-Fri 9am-5pm), see 'Live Chat' in top right of the IT portal.
Email -  please use the Web Form to ensure you supply all required details (alternatively email servicedesk@liv.ac.uk).
Note - please have your student ID and optionally 'secret question' ready when contacting IT Service Desk. 

Ongoing Access Problems 

if you have ongoing difficulties after contacting IT Service Desk, please contact your Librarian as soon as possible for assistance.

Tools to manage your campus (MWS) login

  • Change password - you can change your University of Liverpool (MWS) password, you will need to supply a current (or temporary) password.
  • Activate account - to activate your University of Liverpool (MWS) account (see our technical guides). You cannot activate you login more than once.
  • Your Account - set your 'Secret Question' (may be requested by IT Service Desk) or secondary email (to reset forgotten password).
  • E-Mail forwarding - use this option to forward emails to your campus email to a preferred email address.

Connectivity Problems - particularly N/E Africa, SE Asia/ mainland China, Russian Federation, Zimbabwe, Mid East, UAE (United Arab Emirates)

If you experience connection difficulties - particularly if you are located in regions such as N/E Africa, SE Asia/ mainland China, Russian Federation, Zimbabwe, Mid East, UAE (United Arab Emirates) -  and notice unusual behaviour such as server error messages, blank screen etc. when logging into E-Resources, please see our Technical FAQ.

University Email

Web-based email is provided for all University users. You should log into University of Liverpool email using your University (MWS) Username and Password. You can log into University email at: http://webmail.liv.ac.uk  Your University email consists of your University username (or alternative Mailname if you have set this), e.g.  joneshj@liverpool.ac.uk  For guidance on using UoL (MWS) email see the IT Service Desk email support page.

For assistance with Laureate Education (LOE) transition issues, if you are remaining with UoL for ongoing studies please see the following guideline provided by the University: https://www.liverpool.ac.uk/online-students/transition/it-systems-students/

The online Librarian, Dr Paul Catherall can provide advice or assistance on a range of issues using the Library:

  • Enquiry form (you are recommeded to use this email form to ensure all required details are included to assist your email enquiry), or email olib@liv.ac.uk 

Telephone or Skype for Enquiries (typically available 9-5 GMT/BST):

  • Telephone: [uk 0151] [international +44 151] 79 44345 
  • Mobile: [uk 0] [international +44] 7807106836) 
  • Skype user: "ohecampus" or "UoL Library for Online Programmes" Skype Paul now 
  • Skype number: 0151 3241637

Schedule a consulation by Telephone, Skype or Microsoft Teams

  • You can book a Library consultation with Paul (available approx. 9am - 5pm GMT/BST) weekdays) - you can specify telephone, Skype or Microsoft Teams for chat or video call (use the booking tab above to schedule a session)

Other ways to keep informed/ in touch

You can book a Library consultation with the online Librarian, Dr Paul Catherall (available approx. 9am - 5pm GMT/BST) weekdays) to discuss any issues you have using the Library, or any of the topics shown below -

  • Using the Online Library Web site, Searching for/ Locating Resources.
  • Using E-Journals, E-Books, Theses and Dissertations, Reports, Data, Legal, Health and Market Sources.
  • Referencing Styles, Referencing software, Creating direct links to resources for use in your bibliography.
  • Literature searching, using databases/ collections and sources on the WWW.
  • Using Web-based applications, University email or other UoL tools.
  • Technical/ ongoing issues accessing the Library or individual Library platforms.
  • Staff/ module developer guidance and consultations.

You can specify Skype or Microsoft Teams for voice or video calling (this is also useful for demonstrations via screen sharing), you can schedule a consultation by telephone but this is not recommended for longer sessions or demonstrations. When scheduling a session please provide your own Skype or Teams address/user details on the form.

Network problems/ VPN

If you live in some world regions (see our connectivity /VPN FAQ) and have network issues - e.g. a white page, "connection reset/ refused" error, you may need to access the Library using an alternative method of connection. Note - you should ensure you consult VPN and related regulations in your region.   

Note, some CSD (IT Department) systems such as the Remote Desktop service now use 'Duo' SMS based authentication, this involves registering a mobile device and inputting an SMS sent to your mobile for additional authentication. 

Remote access to Files, Applications and VPN (guide/ tutorial)

When using freely available third party Web Browsers offering VPN, Proxies or similar applications, you should avoid transmitting any sensitive, financial or personal identifiable information as these services can process this data, or transfer data via other services. External Web Browsers are used at your own risk and are not operated by the University Library.

Library support and scheduled consultations

Please see the Support area of this site for: the Library 24/7 Desk and IT Service Desk for password help. 

The Online Librarian provides individual and in-depth Library support via Skype/Teams/e-mail or Tel on using the Library, using databases, referencing, using referencing software, advice for your literature review or systematic review and help connecting to Library services. 
You can also schedule a consultation with the Online Librarian.
The online library provides a range of video tutorials.

KnowHow bookable seminars

KnowHow is a UoL service providing study skills, writing and statistics seminars, the sessions require you install Microsoft Teams to connect to sessions (log into Teams with your MWS details in the format MWS username@liverpool.ac.uk. For a list of timetabled KnowHow sessions, see a little way down the campus Library homepage or training calendar

KnowHow OnlineTutorials (Study/Writing/Statistics)

See the Training area in the left menu, then see the Study tab for online KnowHow tutorials you can access at any time on a range of study skills, writing and statistics topics.

Recordings of KnowHow and Library Webinars

You can access previously recorded KnowHow Webinars/ online sessions delivered for student groups by browsing or searching for video on Microsoft Stream (log in with your MWS username@liverpool.ac.uk and MWS password to access UoL Stream video recordings), for examples see:

Reading Lists @ Liverpool staff training

Reading Lists @ Liverpool - staff training is regularly provided on-campus (see RL@L site or the training calendar) you can also contact the Librarian for Online Programmes to schedule one-to-one or group-based staff training via Skype or Teams. 

Training and analyst enquiries provided by specialist databases

Most licensed/ commercial databases provide guides, video, bookable training/ webinars or enquiry services for specialist database advice and analysis. You can also contact the Online Librarian if you have any difficulties or for additional support using individual databases.

See the following database links for analyst enquiries or bookable training/webinars:

For other databases/collections, browse to the individual database where you require guides, training or analyst support (see the Subject page or A-Z of databases), then navigate to the Help, Support or similar area on that database.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning provides a wide range of video tutorials and modules for academic support, research, technical and professional topics. See help logging into LinkedIn Learning.

Suggested LinkedIn modules