Library for Online Programmes

Google Scholar can search licensed and Open Access resources, Note - the Library does not operate Scholar and cannot guarantee levels of service:

Google Scholar is an external search engine which is not managed at UoL. The Library is unable to guarantee the functionality of external search engines such as Scholar. The Library recommends use of our licensed search platforms such as 'Library Search' and other licensed databases/collections as the primary option for access to E-Resources.

Scholar may experience heavy load/usage, if this happens you may experience difficulties connecting to Scholar or see ‘captcha’ boxes when using Scholar. If you are having these kind of difficulties using Scholar, see the advice below –

Option 1 – use the link to Scholar shown in the Library’s A-Z list of databases or go direct to this link, this will show an “Is it @ Liverpool” link, however if you click the actual search result/title, these will not be authenticated via UoL and will not function unless the article is open access.

Option 2 – you can simply visit http://scholar.google.com (the normal/public URL for Scholar) and set up “Is it @ Liverpool” links manually by configuring your profile in Scholar.

Note – to save the following options between browsing sessions, log into a Google account to save your preferences.

Open a new browser and visit Scholar at: http://scholar.google.com

You will need to configure Scholar to use UoL links, click the three horizontal lines in the top left corner of Scholar:

Select Settings, you will be presented with the following screen, then click Library links in the left menu. Type ‘University of Liverpool’ in the box shown, press the search icon, then ensure ‘University of Liverpool – is it @ Liverpool?’ is checked/ticked and click ‘Save’:

If you logged in with a Google account your preferences will be saved so you don’t have to do this next time you go to scholar.google.com

Note – when you search Scholar via the search box shown on the Library for Online Programmes homepage you are able to follow links by clicking the title of results, however, when you use the above option to access Scholar you will typically need to click ‘Is it @ Liverpool’ links shown to the right side of results to access licensed/commercial content:

Note the Library recommends use of licensed databases such as 'Library Search' provided via the Library for Online Programmes homepage https://libguides.liverpool.ac.uk/online

Please contact your Librarian if you have further questions.

See individual links to major databases, allowing you to search across many licensed sources:

You can browse all databases or select a database below:

See Webinars and Support for:

• Library support via chat/Skype/Tel and bookable sessions (Skype/Teams) on using the Library, your literature search, referencing or referencing software with the online Librarian.
• KnowHow for online study skills, writing and statistics tutorials, bookable sessions/ stats clinics, also pre-recorded webinars and videos.
• Training and guides provided by specialist databases/ providers.
• Direct enquiries/ analyst advice from databases (e.g. MarketLine business analytics).
• LinkedIn Learning (educational video and certified modules on a range of technical, IT, research and other topics)

• How to Obtain Support and Activating your Login
• Quick Start, Training and Video 
• Searching for Resources 
• Referencing and Academic Integrity 
• Your Subject/ Using Specialist Databases
• Library Study Skills 
• Library Research Skills 
• Using Physical Libraries and External Information Services 
• Technical Support