Library for Online Programmes

Curriculum focus includes African American studies, arts and literature, civil rights, culture, genealogy, education, history, journalism, multidisciplinary, political science, religion, social sciences, sports history, and urban planning. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing the newspaper, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, and cartoons. Coverage: 1893 – 1988.

These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, provide researchers with a first-hand perspective on history. They illuminate diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars. The collection consists of five parts: Part I, and II (1800-1900), Part III (1741-1950), Part IV (1732-1950), Part V (1746-1950). Part VI Ireland (1783-1950)

Founded in 1932 by former Conservative and Labour MP Oswald Mosley, the British Union of Fascists (BUF) initially garnered considerable support, including from popular periodicals such as the Daily Mail. The party and its supporters – known as “blackshirts” – drew on racist British imperial discourse and mirrored the antisemitic attitudes of its German and Italian counterparts. The party frequently engaged in violent confrontations with anti-fascist groups, culminating in the Battle of Cable Street in London’s East End, in October 1936.

The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, this database also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton from 1923 to 1931.

Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. It includes newspapers from over twenty states and the District of Columbia. Coverage: 1690-1876.

Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added. The online facsimile contains the complete run of the London edition from its first issue through 2010 (part 1) and through 2016 (part 2).

You can access UK and international newspapers online; search articles by title, headline, date, or other fields. Use Gale NewsVault to search the Gale newspaper archives. Included are the historical archives of Financial Times, Illustrated London News, Times and Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement, Economist, Daily Mail, Listener and Picture Post, as well as British Library Newspapers 1732 - 1950, and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

Originally known as the Manchester Guardian, the Guardian was a Saturday-only paper until the newspaper stamp duty was repealed in 1855. The Observer, the world's oldest Sunday paper, was first published in 1791. Writers such as George Orwell, Vita Sackville-West, Clive James, Philip Toynbee, and others were contributors, continuing a tradition of freedom of the press and providing coverage of politics and literature. Coverage: 1791 - 2003.

It became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, the publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science). It covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, making it a resource for multi-disciplinary research. Subject areas include the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, science, medicine and progress, social history, sports, transport, and travel.

The archives enable research into Irish history both contemporary and modern, with legacy newspapers presented as they were printed in black and white full-page format and a current newspaper archive in colour PDF. Many of the newspapers are available from their first publication to current day.

Since its inception, The Irish Times has evolved from reflecting the views of its founder to becoming a politically and commercially independent newspaper. It has earned an international reputation as Ireland's daily newspaper. Each issue contains background analysis and assessment of the events of the day, and diversity of debate in the daily opinion columns. Coverage: 1859 - 2018.

The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. It was developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.

It became one of the nation’s leading black newspapers and for nearly a century, it has helped influence and promote the causes and aspirations of African-Americans. It captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. Coverage: 1922 – 1993.

It provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the historical New York Times. Coverage: 1851 – 2016.

It provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features publications from the political party newspapers to the dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Picture Post’s innovative use of photojournalism captured the imagination of the British people. In the era before television, it became the window on the world, bringing the social and political issues of the day into consciousness. This resource provides a snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things.

The database provides access to archives of The Guardian & Observer, The Irish Times & Weekly Irish Times, The New York Times, The Times of India, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, and the Washington Post. From a single interface, researchers can access news reports, editorials, and, with ProQuest Historical and Recent Newspapers, advertisements, stock tables, and cartoons.

The list of cross-searchable collections includes America's Historical Newspapers, America’s Historical Imprints, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports and World Newspaper Archive. Readex provides access to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 and Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996.

The Sunday Times launched on 20th October 1822. Since its first issue, the newspaper has provided analysis and commentary on the week's news and society. Murder, theatre, sport, and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail. This Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers, and culture of the last 180 years.

Launched in 1855, by 1876 The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world. It was directed at a wealthy, educated readership. During the twentieth century, the Telegraph cemented its reputation as a pioneering yet reliable source of news reporting. The archive includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. It offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture.

This historical archive allows you to search this newspaper online in its original published context. The Times has offered readers coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, and coverage of major international historical events.

The database has a multidisciplinary subject coverage of historical local, regional, and national news. It provides full pages and article images of the newspaper archive. Coverage: 1877 – 2003.

Spanning from Parliamentary papers, London daily news to the latest English humour of the 1600s, this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts and it relates economic, political, and educational situations. They were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish, and Scottish papers, and some from the American colonies. The collection aids researchers chart the newspaper’s development from Parliamentary debate transcriptions to the newspaper in its current form. Coverage: 1619-1800.

Part I covers the commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain, based on collections of British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia, and National Library of South Africa. Part II looks at Britain’s role as an imperial power throughout the century, and contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. Coverage: 1800-1900

The collection includes the official and personal papers of Lord Curzon, Viceroy of India, 1898-1905; printed works of colonial literature from India and volumes of travel writing from Indians travelling to the West, 1712-1933. It also features printed weekly abstracts compiled by the India Office, summarising both English and Indian language newspapers from British India.

Content for Regional Business News is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington Post, PR Newswire US and more. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires. Full-text coverage varies, but generally dates back to 1990.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.