This site attempts to protect users against Cross-Site Request Forgeries attacks. In order to do so, you must have JavaScript enabled in your web browser otherwise this site will fail to work correctly for you. See details of your web browser for how to enable JavaScript. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library - University of Liverpool
Toggle mobile navigation

Library for Online Programmes

Records Management Library Guides

See the History Library Guide, suggesting recommended databases for your subject.

For an online presentation on using Library databases for your subject see: Developing your research skills (requires UoL/MWS username and password)

See Further Guides for general help getting started with E-Resources, sources for your subject, Webinars and online tutorials.

  • Ancestry.com
  • Center for Information and Communication Studies (CICS) - Focuses on research into homeland security, information usage, bioinformatics, and environmental information management.
  • Centre for Research Communications - The CRC was founded in April 2009 at the University of Nottingham for research and development work with local, national and international partnerships. The CRC has global impact in the R&D that it carries out in the development of projects and global reach in the provision of services in the field of research communications. The CRC builds on the work of SHERPA in helping the establishment and development of institutional repositories across higher education institutions in the UK.
  • Centre for Research in Library and Information Management (CERLIM) - Established in 1993 at the University of Central Lancashire and then moved to the Manchester Metropolitan University in 1998. The center aims to undertake practical research to support library and information services, sponsors the Libraries Without Walls conferences, publishes reports and provides consultancy and training services. Includes information relating to publications, staff details and current and completed projects.
  • Computer and Information Sciences Research - Department at the University of Strathclyde focusing on a wide range of themes. Information on research strategy, faculty and staff, research groups and centers, news, publications, events, student information and links to external resources.
  • Department of Information Studies Research Groups - Research Groups based at the University of Sheffield focusing on computational tools that are required to support information systems; and information management techniques: Chemoinformatics, Educational Informatics, Health Informatics, Information Management, Information Retrieval, Information Systems, Libraries and Information Society.
  • Evidence Base - Research and evaluation centre based at Birmingham City University, established in 2004. Includes information relating to services, staff, current projects and events as well as some full text reports that are available for download.
  • Information Edge - Independent research consultancy specializing in knowledge services/enterprise content management, library design and automation, and proprietary database research and competitive intelligence
  • Information Studies Research - The connection was reset Feb 26 2012 - Research activities at the University of Tampere in Finland including: FIRE (Finnish Information Retrieval Expert Group), REGIM (Research Group on Information Management), REGIS (Research Group on Information Seeking) and the Information Retrieval Laboratory, founded in 1991.
  • Information Use Policy and Management Institute - Established in 1999 at Florida State University, the institute focuses research on the information user, and their interaction with information products, services, policies, technologies, and organizations. Includes information about the institute, staff, projects and publications with external links to further information.
  • iSchool Research - Research department in the Information School at the University of Washington. Includes a mission statement and details current and completed projects.
  • Library and Information Research Group (LIRG) - LIRG is a professional association, which was formed in 1977 to promote information research. It is now part of CILIP, the UK Library Association. Includes a newsletter, mailing list, awards and prizes, course and events information.
  • Library and Information Statistics Unit (LISU) - Based at Loughborough University, UK. LISU publishes compilations of statistical information and reports on the results of its statistical surveys and research projects. The services offered by LISU are consultancy, an information service and tailor-made statistics for public library authorities.
  • Library Research Service (LRS) - A unit of the Colorado State Library and the Colorado Department of Education that is operated in partnership with the University of Denver. This site provides access to research and statistics about academic, public, and school libraries in Colorado and beyond.
  • Primary Research Group - Publishes research reports, surveys and benchmarking studies for businesses, colleges, libraries, law firms, hospitals, museums and other institutions related to budgets, managerial decisions, technology purchases, strategic visions and best practices.
  • Research Libraries UK (RLUK) - RLUK's mission is to work with our members and with our partners, nationally and internationally, to shape and to realise the vision of the modern research library.
  • Research Information Network (RIN) - The Research Information Network (RIN) is a community interest company (CIC) which provides rigorous research and analysis to enhance understanding of the rapidly-changing scholarly communications landscape.
  • Research at the School of Information - Research department at the University of Michigan. Includes information on: faculty and staff details; research centres and projects; research news; and details of the doctoral program.
  • Rob Kling Center for Social Informatics - Based at the School of Library and Information Science at the University of Indiana, supports research into information technology and social change. Seminars, publications, staff details and activities; and hosts a series of working papers and The Information Society journal.
  • School of Information Management and Systems Research (SIMS) - Research centres and groups based at Monash University in Australia including: Enterprise Information Research Group; Decision Support Systems Laboratory; Knowledge Management Research; Information Systems Management and e-Business Group; Information Systems Development Group Records Continuum Research; Information and Telecomm, Needs Research; Centre for Community Networking Research.
  • SIMS Research - Research sponsored by the School of Information Management and Systems at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes a list of current and past conferences sponsored by SIMS and a list of links to current and past projects' websites.
  • UCLA Department of Information Studies: Research - Resources page provided by the Department of Information Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles; includes links to research and information relevant to LIS researchers.
  • UT School of Information - Research activities and publications from the Information School based at the University of Texas.

Web Standards

  • Archives Ireland - Portal site for Irish records management. Includes news stories, links to professional organisations, consultants and providers of professional services, downloads for relevant standards and legislation and impartial advice.
  • Archive.org - a US government funded online collection of archival content and records.
  • International Records Management Trust - A non-profit organisation developing new approaches to the problems of managing public sector records in developing countries. Includes information on its educational, research and country project work.
  • JISC infoNet - Electronic Document and Records Management System Implementation Toolkit - The objective of this toolkit is to provide Records Managers and other information professionals with a 'one-stop shop' for impartial, detailed and practical advice of use during all the stages of a proposed or actual EDRM system implementation that is free from vendor bias and specific to the needs of the FE/HE sector.
  • JISC Records Management infoKit - This infoKit is aimed at people in Further and Higher Education who are new to the discipline of records management. The infoKit provides a framework based on a simplified version of the Australian National Archives DIRKS programme for managing business information.
  • Metadata and Electronic Document Management - Notes on metadata and data management (digital library and electronic document management).
  • MoReq Collateral Website - Project for the update and extension of the Model requirements for Electronic Records Management. The original version of this document has, in the five years since it was published, become a de facto standard for ERM and has been translated into ten languages.
  • The National Archives: Records Management - The National Archives provides advice and guidance to records managers across UK central government.
  • Records Continuum Research Group (Monash University) - The Records Continuum Research Group (RCRG) is looking at methods of analysis which enable records to be controlled at different points in time throughout their lifespan. This includes the way records are represented, used, retrieved and disseminated. The group is also looking into how continuum models apply to information management and data archiving.
  • Records Management UK Mailing List - A mailing list for UK records management professionals.
  • Vital Records Protection - Dedicated to providing educational information about the protection of important official records from fire, disasters, theft and other dangers to risk management experts, small business owners, government officials, and corporate executives. 

 customer service excellence