This free resource aggregates open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and makes them available to the public.
CORE provides tools and global scholarly analytics for institutions, funders, and policy makers, it increases the visibility of content in repositories and journals and gives users access to research papers. It enables a unified search of repository content and it extends the reach of locally held content in their institutional repository, Open Research Online.
A portal for open access research theses provided by DART-Europe, which is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia.
DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). It offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications.
UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
EThOS aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers and it helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
This database contains a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering works from thousands of universities.
A digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and a database of record for graduate research. It includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, and full-text dissertations that are available for download. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997, and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. The resource also includes PQDT UK and Ireland content.
TEL’s objective is to make scientific documents available to scientists around the world. It does not make any scientific evaluation of the submitted theses, since that is the responsibility of the universities’ examination boards.
A union catalogue of millions of records that represent open access resources. It was built through harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting.
OAIster records are accessible through WorldCat.org and appear as WorldCat.org search results along with records from libraries worldwide. The OAIster database is searchable on the OCLC FirstSearch service, providing another access point for this database.
Searching the University of Liverpool Research Repository
You can search the University repository site to search for existing online theses and research materials created/ uploaded by UoL research, PhDs and other research based activities. For advanced options see the Advanced Search page, note, to search by degree type, e.g. Doctor of Business Administration, see the 'Qualification Level' area a little way down the advanced page and select the required degree programme. Also see pre-prepared search results below for DBA and EdD theses.
Also note, there is no login required to search or download documents from the repository. Doctoral students may however need to log in when uploading their own thesis on competion of studies (see notes below). Also note, the repository is not used to store or upload Masters dissertations, for Masters samples please contact your programme team.
For help searching for repository materials please see contacts options shown on the repository site, for further advice on searching for materials please consult your Librarian.
Submission of Successfully Examined Thesis (into 'Liverpool Elements')
All Doctoral Students, including those registered for online programmes must submit their thesis to the University repository before the doctoral degree can be awarded. You should not attempt to upload your doctoral thesis into the University Repository until you have received a request from the University or your research support team providing instructions for uploading the thesis into the 'Elements' platform.
You should log into the Elements platform using your University of Liverpool MWS username and password, this is the same login you use to access the online Library. If you have never activated your UoL (MWS) login, you will need to activate your login at http://register.liv.ac.uk please see these instructions. For further help activating your UoL (MWS) login or login problems please see the contact page.
Content retained in the Research Repository is available under an Open Access license agreement, this means the content can be freely accessed over the WWW. For further information on Open Access terms and policies please see our Open Access Library Guide (LibGuide).
Online doctoral theses which have gone through all submission processes and which are not embargoed – e.g. when a thesis contains sensitive/commercial/ethical data and has been withheld for a period of time – should be shown on the UoL research repository, you can see a link to the repository in the left menu option 'E-Resources' > 'Theses and Dissertations' of the Library for Online Programmes or go to http://livrepository.liverpool.ac.uk/
To limit your search to online DBA or EdD theses, see the advanced search page https://livrepository.liverpool.ac.uk/cgi/search/advanced then scroll down a little way to see ‘Qualification level’ – you will see check boxes for ‘Doctor of Education’ and ‘Doctor of Business Administration’. You can also see pre-defined search results/links for DBA and EdD theses on the repository page (see tab above).