Library: Library for Online Programmes: Management

Management, Data and Statistics Guides

See the Management Library Guide, suggesting recommended databases for management, finance and related subjects.

For an online presentation on using Library databases see: Finding and referencing company, market & industry information

See further guides and tutorials on Finding Company Information and Case Studies.

See Further Guides for general help getting started with E-Resources, sources for your subject, Webinars and online tutorials.

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
It contains material from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review and it includes sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full-text coverage extends back as far as 1886.
D&B Hoovers
By accessing this resource, users agree that they will only use the Licensed Material in compliance with all applicable laws, regulations and directives (including without limitation applicable Privacy Laws, Anti-Corruption Laws, legislation and regulations regarding anti-spam, export control, marketing by means of electronic communications services, customer solicitation, consumer protection and consumer credit.

This commercial database provides company data, business records, and analytics to enable sales and marketing professionals to generate growth for their business.. D&B Hoobers provides real-time alerts, news, and custom notification options, searching of additional data including company profiles, basic financial information, list of directors and main competitors. Please note that this resource is best used on a Firefox internet browser.
Economist
A source of insight, analysis and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance and science and technology.
The website provides access to all the articles from the print edition, as well as web-only content such as blogs, debates, and audio-visual programmes, complete with a searchable archive. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Emerald Insight
This database includes journals, books, and case studies in a range of subject areas, including accounting and finance, education, management, marketing, information studies and engineering.
The University of Liverpool has access to the full Emerald EMeJ Plus collection of business and management journals, the Emerald engineering journals collection, and the Emerald backfiles (from volume 1).
Fame
This resource contains financial information and business intelligence on companies in the UK and Ireland.
You can use FAME to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis. It covers millions of companies in the UK and Ireland: many are available in a detailed format or in a summary format.
MarketLine
- This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find worldwide company, industry, and country reports along with product intelligence, business strategy, news, and opinion.
MarketLine covers every major industry and marketplace in the world. It provides access to sector-specific intelligence, real-time news, powerful analytics, and time-saving workflow and collaboration tools.
Mintel Market Sizes
A database containing market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.
Previously called Global Market Navigator, this resource provides easy to compare, extractable market data. Records consist of market size, market share and segmentation data, along with supporting trend forecasts.
Mintel Reports
This service provides access to the Market Reports collection in categories such as standard, food and drink, essential and leisure and entertainment, and the MBD Industrial Reports.
Consumer research, sales data, market information and analysis, context and commentary provide the complete picture of the past, present and future of key markets. Also available is a daily news services, information on product launches and economic and demographic information. Coverage: The last two years. Note: You can visit the following training videos by selecting the title: Mintel Reports, and Mintel Interactive Databooks.
Passport
A reference tool for business or marketing students. It is a one-stop source to find statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources for country, market, consumer, and lifestyle profiling.
Passport includes country statistics, market reports, company profiles, international perspectives and historical data with future forecasting, plus additional modules, such as countries, country insights, global consumer trend monitoring, future demographics, and industry watch.
Wharton Research Data Services
This database provides business intelligence, data analytics, and research platform to global institutions, enabling historical analysis, and insight into the latest innovations in academic research.
WRDS is a data subscription service provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. It gives users access to several companion databases under the Wharton Research Data Services. WRDS is only available for staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students in the University of Liverpool Management School. Undergraduates do not normally get access over the summer holiday but can request access over this period for assignment/exam resits. You need to register for a WRDS Account to access the site

FT.Com

Alternate Name(s) Financial Times; FT

An international daily newspaper that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
To access the content, you will need to set up your own individual login.
To register as a first-time user, visit How do I access the Financial Times online to see the instructions.
If you have already registered, go directly to ft.com and select the link to sign in.
For further information, view this How to use FT.com video.
By accessing FT.Com, users are agreeing to adhere to both FT.Com terms and conditions and Copyright Policy

This London-based newspaper provides a broad range of information, news, and services for the global business community.
Note: you will find the Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016) as a separate database entry.

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
It contains material from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review and it includes sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full-text coverage extends back as far as 1886.
Emerald Insight
This database includes journals, books, and case studies in a range of subject areas, including accounting and finance, education, management, marketing, information studies and engineering.
The University of Liverpool has access to the full Emerald EMeJ Plus collection of business and management journals, the Emerald engineering journals collection, and the Emerald backfiles (from volume 1).
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Scopus is Elsevier's database, launched in 2004. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (from 1990), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (from 2015).

The Financial Times (various sources, see instructions to access full text)

Centre for Economic Policy Research
CEPR, founded in 1999, is an economic policy think-tank which concentrates on economic research and public education.
It is involved in research projects with partners across Europe, and disseminates the network’s research findings to the private and policy sectors. It focuses on topics that affect people's lives, to contribute to public debate in the United States (social security, healthcare, the national budget), and internationally (global economy, International Monetary Fund, and Latin America policy).
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
An authoritative index published by the American Economic Association, which provides bibliographic coverage for economic research citations and abstracts.
Literature covered is of interest to researchers, academics, product managers, advertisers, product development specialists, and public policy professionals. EconLit includes information that is of relevance to industries and research establishments. Coverage: 1969 to present.
Gale Primary Sources: Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
- This link opens in a new window
This archive provides the complete searchable run of the Financial Times daily business newspaper.
Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added. The online facsimile contains the complete run of the London edition from its first issue through 2010 (part 1) and through 2016 (part 2).
Gale Primary Sources: The Economist Historical Archive, 1843–2020
- This link opens in a new window
This archive provides a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.
Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlight a key topic of each week. These all combine to offer a source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage: 1843-2020.
NBER Working Papers
This platform offers access to the NBER Working papers in full text format. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behaviour, and analysing the effects of public policies.
Founded in 1920, NBER is a non-profit organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. The Working Papers have not been submitted for approval by the Board of directors. They are intended to make results of NBER research available to economists in preliminary form, to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication. Coverage: 1973 to present.
OECD iLibrary
An online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
It also offers content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
World Bank Documents and Reports
Previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), this resource contains World Bank documents which are made available to the public to share the institution's knowledge base and to implement the disclosure policy.
The D&R site is an official disclosure mechanism for the World Bank Group’s final reports. It contains final and official documents and reports from 1946 through the present, including Board Documents (items concerning meetings of the Executive Directors); Country Focus (strategic priorities and directions for lending activities); Economic and Sector Work (background studies); Project Documents; Publications and Research.

SAGE Business Cases
This database provides a collection of global case studies covering a wide range of business and management subjects.
Academic staff requiring access to Sage Business Cases Teacher Notes, should contact the Liaison Librarian for Business and Management.
SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. It provides faculty, students, and researchers with access to these authoritative cases. The business and management subjects covered by the case studies include accounting, entrepreneurship, human resource management, marketing, and strategic management.

Emerald Case Studies
Teaching cases offer students the opportunity to explore real world challenges in the classroom environment, allowing them to test their assumptions and decision-making skills before taking their knowledge into the workplace.

MarketLine
- This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find worldwide company, industry, and country reports along with product intelligence, business strategy, news, and opinion.
MarketLine covers every major industry and marketplace in the world. It provides access to sector-specific intelligence, real-time news, powerful analytics, and time-saving workflow and collaboration tools.

CFA Program Curriculum (Chartrered Financial Analysis Insitute/ CFA)

The CFA (Chartrered Financial Analysis Insitute) Program Curriculum 2020 Level I Volumes 1-6 Box Set provides readers with the official curricula received by all CFA program candidates. The Box Set includes the Candidate Body of Knowledge (CBOK) with concise instruction on all 10 topic areas covered by the CFA Program.

PMBOK/ Project Management Body of Knowledge (Project Management Institute/ PMI)

APM Body of Knowledge (Association for Project Management/ APM)

APM Body of Knowledge E-Book

BSO/ ISOs (International Standards) for professional accreditation

Centre for Economic Policy Research
CEPR, founded in 1999, is an economic policy think-tank which concentrates on economic research and public education.
It is involved in research projects with partners across Europe, and disseminates the network’s research findings to the private and policy sectors. It focuses on topics that affect people's lives, to contribute to public debate in the United States (social security, healthcare, the national budget), and internationally (global economy, International Monetary Fund, and Latin America policy).
OECD iLibrary
An online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
It also offers content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

Bloomberg
A specialist database which provides access to financial data such as equities, commodities, foreign exchange, and price indices. It is available via the McKenzie Trading Room in the Management School. See link for more information.
Bloomberg provides worldwide coverage of business and financial news. The stock search box permits viewing detailed charts, historic pricing, volume, company news, and various financial indicators, such as relative strength, stochastics, and trend lines. The media content is drawn from Bloomberg's TV station and radio programs.
OECD iLibrary
An online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
It also offers content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Statista
A statistics portal that provides data on topics including consumer goods, technology, the internet, travel, and tourism.
Before using this resource review the General Terms & Conditions
It provides students, faculty, and researchers with a time-saving tool for researching quantitative data and statistics. Although primarily aimed at students in the Management School, this resource is also useful for anyone trying to find data or statistics. All statistics, infographics and reports can be downloaded in a variety of formats including PNG, PDF, and PPT.
UK Data Service
This collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.
Funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), it provides access to local, regional, national and international social and economic data; it gives support for policy-relevant research in the higher education, public and commercial sectors; guidance and training for the development of skills in data use. Data users can browse UK Data Service collections online and register to analyse and download them.
World Bank Documents and Reports
Previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), this resource contains World Bank documents which are made available to the public to share the institution's knowledge base and to implement the disclosure policy.
The D&R site is an official disclosure mechanism for the World Bank Group’s final reports. It contains final and official documents and reports from 1946 through the present, including Board Documents (items concerning meetings of the Executive Directors); Country Focus (strategic priorities and directions for lending activities); Economic and Sector Work (background studies); Project Documents; Publications and Research.
Wharton Research Data Services
This database provides business intelligence, data analytics, and research platform to global institutions, enabling historical analysis, and insight into the latest innovations in academic research.
WRDS is a data subscription service provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. It gives users access to several companion databases under the Wharton Research Data Services. WRDS is only available for staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students in the University of Liverpool Management School. Undergraduates do not normally get access over the summer holiday but can request access over this period for assignment/exam resits. You need to register for a WRDS Account to access the site

Corporate register (commercial resource with some freely accessible data sets)
DATA.GOV (US Government data sources on a wide range of social, economic, industrial and international areas)
DATA.GOV.UK (UK Government data)
Finabase Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) data sets
Global Change Mastery Directory (portal to geographical and biosciences data sources)
Google Public Data Explorer (portal to data available freely on the WWW)
Histpop - Online Historical Population Reports
HM Treasury Pocket data bank
NOMIS
Official labour market statistics
ONS - office for National Statistics
UK's largest independent producer of official statistics. Publishes statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels.
Research Pipeline
StatLib (portal to data sources provided by Carnegie Mellon University)
UK Data Archive
UK Economy statistical release
Official statistics about the UK economy.
UN Comtrade
Global trade data.
US Census data

Management School students also have access to FT.com. For information on how to access it, see our FAQ

Economist
A source of insight, analysis and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance and science and technology.
The website provides access to all the articles from the print edition, as well as web-only content such as blogs, debates, and audio-visual programmes, complete with a searchable archive. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Gale Primary Sources: Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021
- This link opens in a new window
This archive provides the complete searchable run of the Financial Times daily business newspaper.
Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added. The online facsimile contains the complete run of the London edition from its first issue through 2010 (part 1) and through 2016 (part 2).
Lexis+ News
Users of Lexis+ must agree to LexisNexis terms & conditions
This database provides access to the national and regional UK newspapers.
The database enables you to either search or browse the content. There is a ‘search help’ function located at the top right-hand corner of the search bar, which gives you tips on how to utilise the search function efficiently.
Gale Primary Sources: The Economist Historical Archive, 1843–2020
- This link opens in a new window
This archive provides a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.
Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlight a key topic of each week. These all combine to offer a source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage: 1843-2020.

Freely available sources online - including real time and historical financial data

Sharia Compliant Indicators

For an online presentation on using market databases see: Finding and referencing company, market & industry information
See further guides and tutorials on Finding Company Information and Case Studies.

MarketLine training and support

MarketLine User guide (PDF)
To use Ask an Analyst (custom enquiry service provided by MarketLine) or MarketLine online videos ensure you have already logged into the Library before visiting MarketLine then see the icon in the top right corner to select these options.

Further guides and tutorials

Getting Started using E-Resources
Searching for E-Resources
Research Support
Management Library Guide (Library Guides provided by Liaison Librarian for this area) with links to E-Resources and further guidance.
Webinars/ online tutorials for databases

Find a course

Select type

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

96%+ of our graduates are in employment or further study six months after graduation.

Study with Liverpool

Find a course

Select type

Study in Liverpool

Study globally

Research with real world impact

Our research

Research

Postgraduate Research

Research and business collaboration

Advancing knowledge to transform lives

About us

Our story

Key information

Our locations

Search

University Library

Library for Online Programmes

Perma link